Composting

Does anyone know of a way I can do a bit of composting? Living in a flat above a shop means that the noramal route of composting means that not only do I not have the space, I don’t have any ground for a bin to sit upon. No ground, no lovely worms and wiggly creatures breaking down my food scraps. There is the option of the Bokashi bin, but that doesn’t really compost; all it does is ‘pickle’ the food ready to be dug in the ground where it continues to break down and I don’t feel I have enough pots to dig in the stuff.

There is the option of a wormery. A lovely little wormery with lovely wee worms chomping through all the lovely food I don’t eat and the odd dead head I cut off my blooms. The more I think of it, it’s the most logical composter to get. It’s small, compost can be stored until I need it, I get a nice liquid fertliser and I get lots of lovely pet worms. Only problem is, I’m not sure how much work they are. How often do these worms need to be fed? I have a tendancy to dissapear for the odd weekend. We’re also in a bit of a sun trap and during the main part of the day it can get very (read: really, really bloody) hot so I’m not entirely sure if it would be very humane to keep worms there.

Still it would be nice to have something that could look after food and small bits of garden waste. I have to admit, I can produce a fair bit of food waste which is a bad thing I know and I’m trying to cut back on that issue at the moment as that’s the priority, obviously. However, I still want a little composting thing. Any suggestions?

The first gardening post in ages. Hooray! There’s more to come too, as soon as I get the camera out.

7 Responses

  1. Also, what do you folks think of the new blog design? I’m trying it out. I think I like it. Not sure about the self portrait though.

  2. My mate Rach has a wormery, and has even been blogging about it. I’m sure she’d be happy to answer worm-related questions!

  3. I’ve got your address so I’ll send you a copy of The Little Book of Compost [http://allanshepherd.com/the-little-book-of-compost/]
    which may be of help, and as a thank you for the seeds you sent me.
    I like this blog layout, including the header. If you’re not sure about it then it’s easy enough to change. xx

  4. Ooh, thanks Martin, nice little blog that.

    Flightly, you’re very sweet. Thank you! I shall look forward to receiving it.

  5. A wormery sounds just like want you need. They will be quite content with the food scaps that you feed them, with the odd bit of shredded paper thrown in. Don’t worry about heading out for the odd weekend away – the worms will quite happily munch away in complete ignorance. The heat, however, will be a problem. Unless you can find a way to cool the room, or move the worms out of the sun, you run the real risk of cooking the worms. The flip side of this though is that they will really appreciate being inside during the winter months.

  6. […] a book on composting. It’s very good! Hopefully it’ll help me make up my mind about how I want to organise my kitchen waste. So thank you, Mr. F, it’s very […]

  7. I wasn’t very successful with the wormery as we didn’t produce enough waste. Personally I feel that it requires a family’s worth of kitchen scraps or some added light garden waste – I don’t know that a few flower heads from your, albeit substantial, balcony will be enough. With me they didn’t seem to appreciate an excess of teabags (we’re heavy tea drinkers !) and retreated back down to the layer below.

    Also, I was most distressed to find drowned worms in the bottom where the sump is. I don’t know if they’ve changed the design to stop this happening, but what I did was to put a generous handful of clay balls (is that what I mean ? You know for drainage, etc) and they ended up on them and mostly didn’t drown. I agree that it’s fine to go away even for a week if they’ve got enough to munch on; but yes, the heat will fry them ! I also found that it took a while to get them into a rhythm, so I just didn’t get on with the lovely things.

    Much, much happier with my Bokashi Bin. I love bokashi ! The liquid that comes out of that is useful for putting down drains as well as a plant feed and when you’ve finished the bin (which needs a further couple of weeks to pickle, but you benefit from the liquid) you can give the contents to someone you love, to incorporate in their compost heap. This helps to turn the rest of the waste into real compost very fast, but be warned, you need to dig a hole in the other waste and completely cover the bokashi bin contents. If you don’t, it don’t half whiff ! Then the person you gave it too will be able to give you compost back when you need it !

Leave a Reply

