Down Under

So I’ve made it. The flight was good and I arrived in Australia on time. The hostel’s good, it’s nice and small and the people are friendly. There’s so much to write about, but my brain’s so frazzled I can’t remember what exactly. In my head it’s about three in the morning, but it’s actually lunchtime. Here’s some notes.

There’s a shop down the road that seems to sell only mannequin legs.

The sounds of the pedestrian crossings are awesome. They beep constantly and when it’s time to cross they make a cool “pew! pew!” sound.

It’s really quite warm here. Sam from the hostel said today “is a cold day”

Nothing slaps you round the face and makes you realise you’re actually in Australia than a walk around Adelaide Botanic Gardens. God, it’s beautiful! It’s like a normal park, except the trees are bigger and more exotic and rather than pigeons running around, there’s big white woodpecker type birds instead. Which would make sense what with being in Oz and everything. You can’t but help just stopping and have a gawp every five seconds.

Right, rather than succumbing to sleep, I’m off to a market to stuff my face. Byeee!

8 Responses

  1. No jet-lag then!

  2. Glad you got there OK.

  3. Hi! I can see you’re having a brill time. Becky said I should’nt keep texting you on the mobile as you have to pay more to receive them = so I shall write here on your blog!!!! Have you seen any koalas yet? Bye for now, love Ma xx

  4. Whoops! I text you too – sorry there! Will pop stuff here instead…
    Dave has told me that I have to visit Mrs Maudes Smorgasboard in Perth – I believe it’s an all you can eat cake shop. Sweet.
    Eastbourne walk was cold! Didn’t go to Beachy Head (thank goodness!) but did have fish and chips today.
    Ali had us all in fits of giggles Saturday Night during a charades type game which you wouldn’t have joined in (or are you over your phobia) but you would have been in fits of uncontrollable laughter with the rest of us. Our faces hurt by the end.
    Bodie and Doyle attacked my feet during the night and pushed their luck with me a bit seeing if I would react to being jumped on at most oppurtunities.
    Thomas has a good game where he sits on the fireplace step and then we all have to copy whatever he does, useually clapping, stamping feet, shouting and holding your arms up in a “woohoo” geusture – this game can go on and on!

    No balderdash though!

  5. Just a thought = do you think those birds you saw were kukaburros? They look more like large white kingfishers not woodpeckers. Did they make any noise? Ma x

  6. Texting me doesn’t cost me anything, but calling me costs me 70p, which is a lot and over expensive and really quite annoying.

    No Balderdash. I’m really rather dissapointed in you all, Joe. That sounds like an aces weekend.

    Thanks for your comments guys, it’s great to hear from you all. Right, I’m going to write another blog…

  7. hello charlotte its rory im 10 years old now i would love to see you because i havent seen you for ages today i went to school and we practiced the school nativity play[BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNGGGGG] Is it nice in Australia i want to live there when im older.

    lots of love Rory p.s please send me a email bye.

  8. phoebe and felix send wishes to.

Leave a Reply

