Summer

So it’s been a rather nice few weeks. I won’t go into it too much as I’ll only bore you all, so here’s a quick summery of the past month:

Dave got on very well with my grandparents. We only had a few hours in Exeter, but we spent a couple of days in Dorset were we swam in the sea (and I was slightly shocked how quickly the water became deep in West Bay) and Nan showed us a lovely pub in Loaders. It’s been a while since I was last in Dorset and I’d forgotten how completely lovely it is.

Camping was fun and the Gower is lovely. I like the fact that to get to the beach you had to walk for ten minutes through trees and sand dunes. This is the view from our tent:

There was a great pub called the King Arthur which served lovely food and a good pint too. We also visited a chocolate factory and did a bit of archery, which I have discovered is completely awesome, despite getting a massive bruise along the inside of my arm where I whacked the bow string there twice. It hurt.

I spent a week at mum and dad’s house too. In which I spent the majority of the time there not being outside and enjoying the views of the Isle of Wight and the nice pubs, but in front of the computer booking bits and bobs for my trip to Oz later on this year. Sydney it seems is completely booked up during new years and it took me two days solidly and numerous (this isn’t an exaggeration either) phone calls to find a cheap hotel for me to stay in for three nights. This firework display in the harbour better be good!

Once all that was sorted, I did manage to do a few things. Ma and Pa have been growing quite a bit of vegetables and the majority of our meals were cooked with the fruits of their labour. And damn tasty too. It made me miss the allotment. The best meal was this. Tuna steak bought from the village fishmongers and marinated in arrabiata spices and olive oil, served with potatoes, roast beetroot, peas, courgette and chard all from the garden. Yum. I also visited Hurst Castle with dad. It’s amazing! If you find yourself in the area do go, it’s a great place to explore, especially if you take the ferry to get there.

So that’s been my summer so far. I’m back to work next week. Boo! And there’s so much to do on this here blog. I notice I’ve been tagged by Hedgewizard, and I shall do that very soon and there’s also a soup recipie I need to type up too. And maybe a couple of other things too if I manage to stop playing Bioshock. (note to Burro: get this game. It’s awesome!) I’ll also actually get round to replying to the comments left here and catching up with all your other blogs too. Once I’ve come back from shopping.

4 Responses

  1. Is that the recipe for the soup we had on Friday? Yum!

  2. Yes it is! I’ll type it up soon

  3. What, you didn’t manage to visit Farmer Palmer’s? Then you’ve not seen Dorset!* Hope you sampled the cocoa nibs in the chocco factory though – they’re ace if you like your choc a little bitter.

    *In case of future misunderstandings, this is a joke. Farmer Palmer’s is the crappiest example of diversification in farming you’re ever likely to see – avoid unless you have small children. Who are extremely easily pleased.

  4. In all my time of visiting Dorset, I have nevr hear of Farmer Palmer’s. Good thing too by the sounds of it. When I first read your comment I thought you were refering to the Palmers brewery…

Leave a Reply

