Holiday

So the House has packed their things away for another parliamentary year. Which means one thing and one thing only to me. Recess! It’s the time of year I get tutted at by other friends for the amount of time off I recieve (only for me to retort with the fact that I get paid naff all because of it). For those who are interested (and those who aren’t and who work their arses off, look away now) I’m now off for five weeks, back to work for three and then off again for two more weeks. If there is a general election in October as is rumoured I’ll get a bit more time off too. It’s a hard life.

Hmmm. I’m sure there’s something in here about not having enough time for an allotment, but I’m just not sure what… *ahem*

Anyway, the summer hols have started brilliantly, with a trip to deepest, darkest Norfolk and a stay near Kings Lynn for the weekend where we stood *this close* to the Greatest Man in the World™ Stephen Fry after watching Twelfth Night in Houghton Hall . We stayed at a so so Best Western, which is the usual McHotel. However, the main building used to be an old farm. What’s interesting is that around this part of Norfolk, many old buildings have these little black stones in the morter inbetween the bricks. We were told that these are called linten stones and were used to ward witches away from the buildings. Hmm. If anyone had any more information on that (and how to spell it), I’d be much obliged.

stones what keep witches away.

Right, I’m not sure how much I’m going to be on here for the next few weeks. But you can be sure of a dull round up soon. Dave and I are off on our first week-long break in ages on Saturday where we shall be going to Exeter (for Dave to meet the grandparents), Bridport (to see my other grandparent), a bit of camping on the Gower and whatever else takes our fancy. It’s going to rain a lot isn’t it?

« »

7 Responses

  1. and monkey world <>

  2. Have a good time. Fingers crossed that the weather is good.
    Think of me working away on my allotment!

  3. God! I forgot about Monkey World. Will do that soon, I promise.

    Thanks Flighty! I will do. It sounds like you’re doing wel at the moment with that

  4. Hm! If you’re doing Bridport to Minky World you’ll more or less pass my door (I’m near Puddletown). If you fancy stopping in for a cuppa, pop by the blog!

  5. Fancy doing the seven random garden facts meme? Tag!

    Oh, and that brickwork thing? Doesn’t work. And neither does the rowan outside the front door, so don’t even think about it. 🙂

  6. You were in the same room as Stephen Fry and you didn’t ask him to be guest of honour and present the awards at The Dark Doors 15th anniverary party?! I’m sure he would have been happy to help out for free if you had asked him nicely – now we will never know.

    Enjoy your hols!

  7. Yowser! What sort of Blog Friend am I? Never wished you a happy holiday and never replied to your kind CD offer on mine. I hang my head in abject shame and beg forgiveness!

    I have replied now 🙂

    Have a grrrrrreat holiday!

Leave a Reply

