Travelling

So I’ve managed to blag a month’s (unpaid) leave off work in the winter to enable to do a spot of travelling around Australia, which is rather exciting. It’s particually exciting for me as I’ve never done this kind of thing before and what makes it completely terrifying is that I’m travelling on my own. I need tips. The main reason I’m off is that a friend is getting married in Perth so I’ll be having a few days there, but for the rest of the month I’m a free girl and I really don’t know what to do. I dont think I’ll go north as that’s a bit far and my funds are only so much, but I do want to see places like Sidney, Melborne, the usual stuff really. I’m also going to Canberra to the the parliament there, but that’s more of a work thing. But what are the not to be missed bits? do you know any really cheap but nice places to stay? (I’ve already decided that I’m not going to do dorms. I’m too old. A room of my own please) And, most importantly in a way, if you were on your own there, where would you spend Christmas day? And new years?

Proper post tomorrow, but right now I’m far too excited for anything…

7 Responses

  1. Xmas and NY on your own??? Noooooo! That just ain’t right kid! I’d say gate crash your friend’s family and spend it with them 🙂

  2. Well, I’m about to write a very nice email to them…

  3. YAY! I’ve only ever travelled on my own, and it’s great in that you can do what you want, when you want, without having a committee meeting about the itinerary. The only thing that’s a pain in the ass is not having someone to go out to dinner with!

  4. Of course i’m loving it, Xmas , on my OWN!!

    you wanna go out to dinner Jen?

  5. Dave, you’re so mean! Of course I want to go out to dinner. I’ll eat an extra starter in memory of Mildew.

  6. Flag Inns across Australia are good and cheap. How about B&B’s will you hire a car – if so then they are perfect.

    The hosts really spoil you, you have company, your own space, they know all the best places to visit (often that are not in guide books) best of everything.

    Homestays or Farmstays – I can even recommend a book if I can find my old copy.

    Actually I have just found it. It is the 2000 copy – last time went (for 3 months)

    If you can’t get a copy I can post mine to you as long as you let me have it back when you get back from OZ

    (The listings don’t change much)

    Oh the book is called The Australian Bed & Breakfast book. (Paper back)

    I can highly recommend the B&B route. There were better than a lot of the hotels we stayed in. Really posh – ensuite – and so reasonably priced with evening meals if you wanted them too.

Leave a Reply

