Clothes

I’ve just been shopping in the brand new Primark in Oxford St. It’s wonderful! You have to get there first thing in the morning though otherwise it gets jam packed. I bought a couple of skirts of which style wise I’ve been looking for for ages. One was ten pounds and the other three. Three quid for a skirt! It’s a bargain no doubt, but I can’t help wondering who made it. I’m guessing someone in poor working conditions receiving next to nothing in wages using fabric that’s been grown with the help of lots of pesticides. I also can’t help thinking that for the majority of high street stores that this situation is the same. So where could I go for conscience free clothes? Well there are a number of websites out there. Adili being one. The clothes are lovely and I wouldn’t say no to wearing any of it, but £54 for a plain white tunic? You’ve got to be joking. I realise that there’s no way these clothes could be as cheap as Topshop but I’m on a crappy wage and there’s no way I could ever buy one item of clothing for that amount of money. I could get a skirt, shorts and a shirt for that in H&M! So is there such a thing as a fair trade shop that won’t cost the earth (arf arf)? Until I start earning a decent wage I’m afraid that I’ll still be wandering around the aisles of New Look. (although it has to be said both New Look and Topshop do a line in organic t-shirts so there is a little bit of progress).

2 Responses

  1. In the U.S. the Salvation Army and Savers run large, well organized shops with loads of clean clothing, mostly used but occasionally brand new. So I can 1)save money, 2)support charity, 3)recycle and 4)avoid the whole global sweatshop/unsustainable production guilt trip. Then, if the budget allows, I can splurge on something organic or fair trade. Underwear botaand shoes are still a problem, though.

  2. Hi there

    We have some great clothes on special at the mo…for example an organic flared skirt for only £12.50 at this precise moment in time!!!

    http://www.naturalcollection.com/natural-products/Organic-Flared-Skirts.aspx

    Entire clearance range is at:
    http://www.naturalcollection.com/natural-shop/stock-clearance-viewall.aspx

    I hope you find something you like…

    Cheers

    Al

Leave a Reply

