I am typing this one handed

So it turns out that I’ve buggered up my shoulder. Too much of a bad posture and too much playing of Half Life 2 on the laptop and arsing around on the PSP. It means I’m off work sick today, enjoying the ‘delights’ of daytime TV and sitting around in Dave’s pajamas.

So while I’m waiting for the rain to stop so I can go up to the chemists and buy more Deep Heat patches, I thought I’d give you the recipes of the Christmas food mentioned in the last post.

First up, marrow chutney.

I have yet to try any yet, but it looks rather nice. You need:

3 lb marrow

1lb red onions

1lb ripe tomatoes with skins and seeds removed

1pt white wine vinegar

4oz dates

2tsp allspice

a nice big bit of fresh ginger

2tsp salt

2tsp freshly ground black pepper

1andahalf lb brown sugar

Peel the marrow and cut into small chunks. Peel and chop the onions. Slice the tomatoes.

Put all these ingredients into a pan with half the vinegar. Chop the dates and add to the pan. Simmer gently until soft and pulpy. Add spices, pepper and salt and simmer for a further 15 minutes. Stir in sugar and remaining vinegar. Continue cooking until thick (no liquid should ooze into the path made by a wooden spoon as it is drawn across the pan). Pour into warm jars when finished.

Next we have the mincemeat. It’s a good recipe, there’s no cooking involved, just bung everything in a bowl, mix, cover with a tea towel and leave overnight and the next day add the alcohol.

50g melted butter

100g dried apricots, roughly chopped

100g raisins

100g sultanas

175g currants

100g candied peel

50g whole blanched almonds chopped

140g light muscovado sugar

1tbsp orange marmalade

1tsp mixed spice

1tsp ground cinnamon

finely grated zest and juice of one lemon

4 generous tbsp brandy

4 generous tbsp sherry

I’ve yet to use any of this in cooking as I’m letting it mature, but it smells delicious and I think it could be rather tasty indeed. It keeps for two months.

6 Responses

  1. Hi mate – it’s a combo of the patio work and being hunched over Second Life that’s done for me, dag nab it!

    I recommend an ice pack to reduce the swelling of the tissues followed by gentle yoga strectches and more ice packs afterwards. Do this a lot and you’ll be OK in no time. Remember – RICE = Rest, Ice, Compress, Elevate. Bring down the swelling but keep the area from locking up through lack of use.

    That’ll be ££50 please – you can pay in Linden dollars of course.

    p.s. do you still visit SL?

  2. I sympathise with your plight O’fellow grower.

    I have been “laid up” as family would call it, with a chest infection this past week.

    In hopes of shaking it via antibiotics I have been good to he point of sheer bloody boredom for 6 days, but have just rebelled & opened a bottle of Pinot Grigot at 4 O’clock in the afternoon…Oh hang the decadance!

    I am proud to say however, that I have not yet resorted to cross dressing.

    Get well soon.

    GM

  3. Might have to try the ice, Doc said hot water bottles to me, but it’s worth trying summat else and yay to yoga moves. Funnily enough, Ju and I were going to start yoga lessons this week.

    I’ve not been on SL for ages, might take a look when the shoulder’s better – don’t like being on the laptop hunched over for too long at the moment…

    There is nothing quite like the first drink after a course of drugs, hope you’re feeling better Greenmantle. How’s the move going by the way?

  4. Drugs! I recommend lots of drugs!

  5. The move is proving frustrating actually… as I suspect they usually do. Finally accepted an offer this week, but stuck in a poxy chain I fear….still. at least Northampton isn’t going anywhere in a hurry.

  6. I don’t think moving is easy for anyone. At least you have an offer, although being in a chain sucks. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

Leave a Reply

