Blimey! How hot was it this weekend?

It’s been an awesome weekend. What with spending Friday walking to lots of garden centers, buying lots of plants (including 4 strawberry plants for £2!), getting sunburnt, watching duck chicks in the local river, crying at the sight of a chick who’s lost his mum, watching the Germany game then spending the night in a pub listening to great music, then on Saturday watching the England match while sipping champange and Pimms, then onto sitting in a lovely pub garden in Camden for a few hours then playing bat and ball in Regents Park in the dark then realising we’d been locked in, it’s been quite possibly the best weekend of the year so far. That was a very long sentance.

Sunday was spent visiting Wimpole Hall, a big house and farm near Royston in Cambridgeshire. It also has a walled vegetable garden that features regularly in Kitchen Garden magazine‘s Jobs To Do This Month section, or whatever it’s called. It’s a rather fine and grand place and well worth a visit if you’re in the area. The farm’s excellent and the perfect place for children to ask that slighty embarassing question ‘what are those pigs doing?’ and to point at a huge bull’s huge balls just as my young companions did. The veg garden is still fairly young in terms of it’s redevelopment, but it’s coming along very nicely. Trained fruit trees all the walls, lots of rhubard, lots of beetroot and loads of herbs and quite a few other plants too. Here’s a couple of not very good photos:

  

While watering the allotment last night (spending the day running around with 6 and 3 year olds has a tendancy to tire you out so the plants bought on Friday will have to wait a few days before they’re planted in) I noticed a huge hole in the compost heap that’s a few plots away from mine. The heap’s huge, I’d say it’s at least two thirds the size of my plot, which is five poles.

 

What do you think it is? I’m guessing the likely cause is foxes, being in the city and all, but it would be awesome if it were badgers, although I feel I’d have to be a bit careful and very quiet when I’m putting my garden waste onto it. The hole is at least 30cm wide and goes down into the heap pretty deep too. Thinking about it, it’s probably a bit too small for badgers, but the thought of setting up some kind of night vision night cam to catch some kind of wildlife is rather tempting.

3 Responses

  1. Hello! It’s good to see that you had such a good weekend. I went to Wimpole Hall years ago but don’t really remember it. I must go again.
    Your photos are fine. That could well be foxes. Do tell if you learn more.
    I’ve added you to my favourites list to remind me to stop by here more often.

  2. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for any signs of activity on the hole front and will post immediately!

  3. I have enjoyed your blog. Please take a look at mine about gardening

Leave a Reply

