They’re fungis to have in the room!

Very quick post today. Work has gotten stupidly busy these past few days but hopefully soon I'll have the time to write a full account of things growing in the allotment.

In the meantime though I give you this picture:

I have mushrooms growing in my bedroom. They're edible too, and not damp room fungi as Ma thought. Tonight for dinner I shall be having a mushroom and asparagus omelette. Nice!

Talking of Ma, I'd like to point out a very useful website she passed on to me. It's all about weeds and has pictures of hundreds of the little invasive buggers. Plenty of extra info too. It's not the most organic friendly, but still worth keeping as a bookmark.

7 Responses

  1. Wow! That’s one Momma Mushroom you’ve got there – there’ll be good eats in that one 🙂

  2. Clever you growing mushrooms. Did you buy a kit or make it yourself. I thought mushrooms were really hard to to grow

    Well done you

  3. I keep tryin to leave messages but they keep throwing me out – perhaps too long

    Really enjoy reading your blog – and clever you for growing mushrooms.

    We they difficult?

  4. It was a good mushroom! I was rather proud. They came from a kit I bought in Woolworths and while not hard to grow it does take a while. First you have to look after the spore peat (keep damp and in a dark place) then after four-ish weeks cover with compost and keep damp. It’ll take another six weeks at least for mushrooms to start to show. You’re supposed to have another yeald but I’ve had no sign of more mushrooms since harvesting this lot, not that I mind as it only cost me a couple of quid and was just a bit of an experiment.

    That’s odd about your comments Al, I’ll look into why it’s doing that, could be to do with all the spam I’ve been getting.

  5. This is a great plugin to stop the spammers: http://www.herod.net/dypm/dypm.html Worked for Wild Burro Paddocks 🙂

  6. Cheers HB, I’m not actually sure if I can upload plug-ins onto my page as this isn’t the downloaded WordPress, but I shall investigate. Tis a good plugin, that adding one. I discovered I can’t count last time I tried to leave a comment on your site 🙂

  7. Hi there,
    Am enjoying reading the site. The mushrooms are great, i’m still waiting on some from a kit I’ve got, look more promising than some I tried to do myself. Bet it tasted so much better then the store bought type?
    Lauren

Leave a Reply

