Lessons from a nine year old

Did any of you catch Chelsea on TV last night? I didn't watch it all, but I did catch a lovely piece featuring a nine year old who has his own allotment. He started getting into gardening when he was just two years old as he liked diggers and would watch Garden Force as they used one. He grows a wide range of veg, but cos and potatoes are his favourite as they're easy to grow. He was such an awesome kid. If I ever have children, that's how I want them to turn out. Anyway, as he was an organic gardener he had "a constant battle with slugs", so he would put a trail of porrige oats around his plants, the slugs would eat the oats, and the oats absorb the slugs moisture and they die. What a great tip! I just had to share that with you all. What do you mean you knew that already?

2 Responses

  1. Hello! My mother always used to walk round the garden first and last thing . Any slugs she found she cut in two with a sharp knife.
    She’d say it was cheapest and easiest way to get rid of them, and provided food for the birds.
    I enjoy stopping by here to see how you’re getting on. I hope that you’ve had a good weekend. Cheers.

  2. It does sound like a rather effective way to get rid of them, but being rather squeamish thing I’m not sure if I have the guts. I even get funny if I accidently chop a worm in half if I’m digging.

Leave a Reply

