cold front room

It seems I am doing as well as Wizer when it comes to seed sowing at home. 99% of the seeds planted last week have germinated and are getting far too leggy for their own good. I’m guessing it’s because the room they’re all currently living in is too warm for them, despite the fact every time I want to watch TV in there I have to wrap up as if I were about to embark on an Antarctic expedition it’s so bloody cold. Maybe I’m just soft. I’m still planting seeds regardless, mind. Flowers this weekend. Sweet pea, marigolds and nasturtiums, which should look lovely dotted around the plot if they decide to grow. I’m particularly looking forward to having the nasturtiums in salads and making this.

Was told by a friend and allotment neighbour that the sheeting on the allotment had blown over, surprise, surprise. Has anyone got any good ideas about keeping the damned plastic down? Bricks aren’t quite doing it and I’m concerned that pegs will rip it. (oh, and many thanks to Jo, Becky and Carrie for sorting it out)  Cheap stuff

Have also decided to make the arch a more permanent feature by not growing runner beans and sweet pea on there as originally planned, but growing jasmine and a climbing rose up there.

Spent roughly 10 minutes in the allotment this weekend. It’s a shame as I’ve discovered that being up there, even in really crap weather, that it’s perfect for blowing out the previous nights cobwebs. Rain, it seems, really does stop play. I’ve been out there in hail storms before, but two days of heavy showers (oh all right, and a bright Saturday day, but I couldn’t go out then, I was busy) turns my soil into heavy mud and I can’t dig. Alas, it appears that I have a clayey soil. Ho hum. 

A list is needed. There’s stuff to be done and if not written, Dave doesn’t see and can’t remind me on Saturday morning what I’m supposed to do. So. To do next weekend: 

  • Dig! 
  • Cover dug bits with black roll 
  • Plant peas and onions 
  • Ask Dave if he would like to join me in loading up his car with all the rubbish from the shed and possibly the pile of carpets too and taking them to the dump. 
  • Ask Dave for a lift to Homebase and get some cheap shelves for said shed. 

The shelves would be very useful. If I can’t grow seeds in my sub-zero living room I’ll have to use the shed, and for that I need shelves. (That last sentence was to justify the spending of money to not me, but my cash conscience, Dave) 

Tomorrow, if I remember, another recipe! For malt loaf! How exciting!   

6 Responses

  1. isn’t it annoying? I am having more luck in my conservatory. Some seeds are even growing too quickly in there. Maybe heated propagaters are the answer? The heat would be constantly the same then. You seem to have the same attitude as me, keep sowing til it works!

  2. Only prob with heated propagaters is the cost of them. Shame really, because they would be the best. Wilko’s don’t do any do they?

    I’m getting slighty obsessed with sowing seeds, it’s such a relaxing but focused thing it’s almost like meditation. I also love the fact that you’re holding something so small in your hand that will (hopefully) grow into something big and provide food.

  3. I too had trouble with the seed/living room combination last year. Personally I don’t think temperature is much to do with it, it’s light levels.

    The average domestic lounge has one or two windows and a lot of wall. Seedlings always grow leggy indoors as they reach towards a distinct light source. It might seem nice and bright in the room to you, but it’s nothing like being outdoors, and to plants
    it’s probably quite dim, which is why they stretch for the daylight.

    Sowing outside in a greenhouse you don’t seem to get this problem so much, so I rest my case.

    Well it’s just a theory, but it’s mine and I’m sticking to it!

    Greenmantle

  4. Keeping heavy duty black plastic in place on my lottie I thought I had sussed until last Monday.The wind had actually managed to move one of the two extremely large pieces covering my plot even though they are held down with stones,water containers etc.
    So there was I,providing hilarious entertainment for the local householders no doubt,tugging and heaving at the plastic with all my strength for ages in very windy weather till it was back in place(felt a bit like yanking sails on the high seas)As the items supposedly holding it down weren’t sufficient have now resortd to 6 metal poles across the plot in pairs with rope attached at ground level.Obviously not the most attractive plot on the site at present but hopefully the weeds underneath will have been killed off without chemicals!!!

  5. It’s amazing how big the power of wind is. Uh, i’m not sure if that sounds right… sorry, pub lunch.

    None of my covering’s have stayed put properly and the polytunny seems to be having a lot of fun. I like your idea with the poles and rope a lot, very clever.

  6. Have you tried one of the plastic outdoors mini-greenhouses. They are great for seeds that have germinated – they acclimatise them to cooler temps and they don’t get as leggy – and you can recover your temp indoors!

    I use a heated conservatory to start them off and then a outdoors mini greenhouse on a south facing wall.

Leave a Reply

