Spiders and Woodlice and Slugs! Oh my!

Last week I used an old tried and tested method of obliterating slugs which, I’m sure you know, is placing cups of beer around the garden whereupon the slimy critters smell the alcohol, say “Mmmm… beer…”, drink far too much and fall in the cup and die. I’m sure there’s some kind of metaphor in there somewhere about today’s youth and binge drinking but I’m not sure where. I was never sure how well this method would work, but boy does it. I came back four days later and the cups were teeming with them. God bless Tesco Value larger (only 2% and at 88p!). My flatmate is questioning my morality when I’ll happily get rid of slugs but I make such a fuss about using mousetraps that snaps the poor blighters heads off. Hmm.

As you can see, this is my shiny new blog. Well actually, it’s the same one but with a different address. I even kept your comments from 20six. I think it looks rather nice doesn’t it?

I’m sure there’s been something else that happened down the allotment… oh yes. Broad beans were transplanted on Friday and have since been subject to daily frosts. Sod’s law that is. I really hope they’re as hardy as they say they are.
I finally got round to clearing the shed. Now I know that spiders are a gardeners friend and an aid to organic gardening, but I still don’t like them. I respect them, I think they’re amazing creatures and that Life in the Undergrowth programme dedicated to them left me in awe, but quite frankly I’m terrified of them. Especially when they’re on my shed floor scampering about when I’m trying to tidy it. The gardening gloves were on, as were the wellies and things were picked up with the spade. A pile of about 1,000,000 woodlice were discovered in a corner and I was almost in hysterics as I tipped a box into a dustbin bag and about 20 spiders that were THIS BIG ran out. I stopped cleaning after that.

4 Responses

  1. A much better blog – very clear. Yes, spiders are VERY frightening, you probably take after me in that respect. Anyway, keep up the good work Spring will soon be here.
    Love Ma x

  2. Ah mum! Whatyoudoinghere? You’reembarassingmeinfrontofmymates, etc, etc. So it’s your fault I don’t like spiders! I’m tempted to lure one of the feral cats into the shed and let them have a meal. Thanks for reading and liking it, I wish I could say I’ll be home for tea, but as I live 70 miles away I can’t. Damn.

  3. Mildew! Blimey, nice to see you here in WordPress Towers – hope you like the view 😀

    Spiders. Shudder. I know they do ‘good things’ but do they really have to be so fekking frightening? The big ones are just so bloody wrong!

  4. What if you lure the cat into the shed and the spiders eat it? Then they’ll get really big. It’ll be like that film ‘8 Legged Freaks’. Then one day you’ll go to the allotment and won’t come back. We’ll find you a month later in a silk cocoon with your insides sucked out.

    You see, I’m not sure the cat plan is the best way to go…

Leave a Reply

